WTC Graduation

It was a beautiful and glorious day as the members of the Governing Council, Faculty members, staff, students and well-wishers graced the 2024 Award Service & Women’s Training Centre (WTC) Graduation held on Friday, May 31st, 2024 at the NBTS Multipurpose Hall. The event started out with a soul lifting and spirit filled praise session led by the praise team. The Chaplain, Rev Dr Olaide Ajeigbe called the congregation to worship while Rev Dr Damaris Aremu, a faculty member in the Faculty of Church Music, led in an hymn of praise, ‘O Worship the King’, from the 1956 edition of the Baptist Hymnal, number 20. The Dean of the Faculty of Education, Rev. Dr Ruth M. Oyeniyi thereafter led in the prayer of praise.

The Seminary President, Rev Prof. S. Ola. Ayankeye in his fraternal greetings recognized the efforts of the WTC Supervisor, Dr Olukemi Adejuwon and her team. He also congratulated the graduands and the awardees; admonishing them to see the award as a privilege given unto them by God and to know that all the glory belongs to God. Mrs Joy Ishola, representative of the WTC graduands, gave a profound testimony consisting of appreciation, information on their course of study and reasons for thanksgiving, on behalf of all the WTC graduands.

The WTC certificate was awarded to all WTC graduands by the Seminary President, Rev Prof Ola Ayankeye, assisted by the Dean of the Faculty of Education, Rev. Dr Ruth M. Oyeniyi and the Supervisor of the Women’s Training Centre, Rev. Dr Olukemi Adejuwon. Twenty two women were awarded the Certificate of Participation in Women Ministry (C.P.W.M) while twelve received the Certificate in Women Ministry (CWM). Rev. Mrs Dorcas F Awoniyi, the President of Ogbomoso Baptist Conference Women’s Missionary Union (WMU), gave the charge titled “The Measure of a Pastor’s Wife” taken from two Bible passages – Titus 2:5, and Proverbs 31:15. She encouraged the graduands, who are all pastor wives to take their responsibility under Christ seriously and to serve in God’s power; not their own power.

Rev. Mrs D. F.  Awoniyi gave a preamble of people’s assumptions of what a pastor’s family should be like. She called attention that pastors’ families are human also. Rev. Awoniyi provided nine measures as a guide to Pastors’ wives as they move on in ministry. The nine measures she gave are that the women should: Be a great asset to their husband; be their husband’s best friend; Keep on ensuring that their spouse relaxes and does not only work; see to  their husband’s spiritual welfare; Teach what is good; Love their children; Love and submit their husband and Be a wife of a noble character. Afterwards, Rev Dr Omolara Areo, a faculty member in the Faculty of Education committed the graduands to God in prayers.

Another highlight of the day was the presentation of awards. A total number of seventy two (72) awards were presented to students in the penultimate and final year, across all programme from the Certificate Class to the doctoral level, comprising both the regular and sandwich students. While the Registrar, Dr ’Dele Oluwole read out the awards; he called on different people to help present the awards – including members of the families who instituted some of the awards. The first category of awards was presented by Rev. Prof. Olusola Ayo Obiremi, the Deputy President Advancement. The second category of awards was presented by Rev. Dr Nike Niyi-Ojo, who doubles as the wife of the Ogbomoso Baptist Conference and a faculty member in the Faculty of Church Music. The third category of awards was presented by Rev Mrs Susannah Olatorera Ayankeye, the wife of the Seminary President.

The names of awardees this year are: Deborah Majolagbe, Olabisi Moses Adisa, Rotkang Danjuma, Tina John, Joy Ishola, Atinuke Ademola, Adefunke Mary Owokoniran, Marvellous Adeleke, Dorcas Motunrayo Ayoola-Abolade, Timothy Jesutofunmi Akano, Peter Agbeleoba, Adeyemi Adetayo Adekanbi, Joel Opeyemi Oke, Adebayo Olumide Obe, Ayotunde Olarewaju Oyesola, Israel Olaadura Olayode, Johnson Akanbi Adepoju, Samuel Eniola Adediran, Olayinka Michael Akinola, Kosmos Nshiti Awongieh, Ogochukwu Nwobi, Esther Damilola Oladejo, Janet Olufemi Adeyemo, Isaac Oluwatosin Ajani, Olufunke Arinade Olagoke, Gamaliel Onaara Akinsola, IfeOluwa Oluwaseun Fatoki, Olatunji Hezekiah Adigun, Nathaniel Oluwaseyi Oyewole, Adeyinka Samson Adewumi, Olusola Ayantoyinbo, Gabriel Ifeoluwa Ajamu, Olarewaju Obadara Folakanmi, Emmanuel Olusola Ayantoyinbo, Pamilerin Toyin Bamikunle, Felix Olalekan Dada, Michael Tobi Olaniyi, Adeyemi Shadrach Adesina, Adebisi Mary Mosaku, Elizabeth Feyikemi Akinbami, Amos Olugbenga Oyedokun, Bulus Loya Dyaji, Grace Modupeola Amusan, Charity Chinasa Adarigho, Ufuoma Chapele, Nathaniel Oluseyi, Manasseh Olujimi Adeyanju, Kosoluware Job Ayinla, Temitope Victoria Matthew, Oluyemi Comfort Obe, Abuh Laisy, and Matthew Bio Aliu.

The twin service ended with the singing of ‘Lead on O King Eternal’ led by Dr Damaris Aremu and played by Dr Timothy Amao as well as announcements by the chaplain and closing prayer and benediction by the president. Indeed, the eternal King leads on. As awardees go home happy and their families rejoice with them; many look forward to the surprises of the other awards to be revealed on graduation day and non-graduating students disperse with remnewed commitment to do their best to win awards in 2025.

Ayomide Mayekogbon 

for NBTS Advancement Office

June 7, 2024

You May Also Like …